A Mighty Fish Story

It’s been a long day. I was up at 5 and went fishing. Me, and 6 more tough and rough fishermen. It was still dark. And cold. The last time I went fishing I was 8 years old. As I caught a fish it startled me so much that I fell into the water. At the age of 10 I was caught myself; a vicious hook found its way into my right eyelid. A few more millimeters and I would have been blind at one eye. Dad took me to the doctor and he yanked it out. I didn’t cry.

sunrise

So today I found myself at the waterside again with a fishing rod. The knowledgeable fishermen exchanged their wisdom and I nodded to all that they were so willing to share. So I threw that line and hook! Ferociously! Again and again. Two giant fish took the bait but they escaped me. Man against Fish! Fish against Man! I fought as if it was the white whale Moby Dick and he taunted me. Laughed at me! And I had to let go.

sunrise for fishermen

Several hours later I was home with a headache. I went to bed…, woke up. What happened? I fished? Did I catch any? No. And glad I didn’t. I like fish. Finding Nemo is one of my fave movies! I’m no fisherman! Still, I had a nice time. With people I didn’t know. I liked the serenity, the silence, the fresh air, the comradeship and the morning sun. Did I feel like a fish out of the water? Yes I did. I’m a musician; Overly sensitive. A Romantic who likes Art, babies, music, cute animals. I cry watching commercials. But I loved getting out there and do something completely different. Getting out of the comfort zone. And making grand adventures out of little things.

The last dj to fish here

The last DJ to fish here

‘But here is an artist. He desires to paint you the dreamiest, shadiest, quietest, most enchanting bit of romantic landscape… What is the chief element he employs?’ (From Herman Melville’s Moby Dick)

Leave a Reply

